Unsustainable

muse___unsustainable__hqlyricsplus__by_mbladzer-d5jz0cr

The challenge I have just set myself is to write a post in the time it takes for one of my favourite songs of 2012 to play. So my time is limited- writing as much as I like is ‘Unsustainable’ so to speak!

That’s the name of the song, and it’s an experimental dubstep song by (who else?) Muse. I love Muse. I’ve been criticised for it, but sure what can I do? Haha.

Humanity’s exponential growth is unsustainable and that’s pretty much the message of the song. We live on a planet of finite resources and if we continue to live irresponsibly in regards to our home, future generations will look back and curse us as they watch our race die out.

Let’s (and this is a reminder for me too!) be environmentally friendly as we can. In relation to the animal etc kingdoms, humanity is the biggest scourge that has ever existed. We are responsible at least in part and sometimes wholly for the extinction of many species of animals and plants etc. Imagine a tired out polar bear drowning between icebergs because they are simply too far from one another for him to reach. Heartbreaking, and it is because we have caused so much ice to melt with centuries of industry. All of us make a RELATIVELY small carbon footprint individually (I believe it is still surprisingly big) but when we accumulate our contributions to global warming it can be seen we have a huge impact on our planet’s ecosystem. We have power to do as we please, but with power comes responsibilty.

Basically, if I can use the act of switching off a light that is left unnecessarily on symbolically, let’s turn off the lights, everyone.

Enjoy the song above! As the Spanish might say ‘flipé cuando la escuché! I was in Spain when I heard it. Bye for now!

P.S. I failed the challenge. I’ve listened to about five songs! 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Heather says:

    Good challenge…well done.

  2. Thanks Heather 🙂 I need something new to write about, this was a five minute spur of the moment post!

  3. blondieaka says:

    Great idea..love it 🙂

    1. Thanks, glad you liked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

