Bad Modern Habits

Santa_Maria_del_Fiore

The magnificent Duomo di Firenze!

Very quick post, because I’m starving!

I’ve come to Florence for three days and I’m sitting in a hotel common area with two strangers. It’s a small room and the place where the wifi is strongest, hence my excuse for coming here. I thought should there be people present, I would end up chatting to them.

There are two people, but they both have headphones on. This makes communication slightly difficult as you have to make a real effort to catch people’s attention when they’ve got their headphones on.

We’re all about the same age, mid twenties, more or less. And we’re all sitting in the room as if we are alone. It feels a little unnatural. Now, I hold my hands up, as it’s obvious I’m using my computer. I don’t have headphones on though.

I think our generation has lost something in terms of the ability to communicate with each other and it’s a pity. We always have our heads stuck in screens. Maybe I should walk over to the other two and take their screens and insist that we have ten minutes enforced small talk. Forced fun, as they call it. Haha, it bodes well for my sanity that I am of course joking.

I’m sure there’ll be plenty of opportunities in the near future to meet people šŸ™‚ Ciao for now!

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Brendan McConvery says:

    Tony, enjoy Florence. I love it – spent my first month in Italy there many moons ago learning Italian. Dreadful heat so to escape I used go up to Fiesole as often as I could. Don’t forget the Fra Angelico’s in San Domenico or that wonderful Santa Maria Novella. Churches were cool (in the original sense of that word) so great places in which to cool off.

    1. ajshannon2014 says:

      Thanks Brendan. I was actually cold in Santa Maria Novella yesterday. I just cannot get over that dome. It’s stunning, especially when you know the difficulty there was in constructing it.

  2. Sue C. says:

    I have gotten where I almost despise cell phones, etc. for this very reason.

    1. ajshannon2014 says:

      Thanks for reading, Sue.

Leave a Reply

